Exploring the limits

It may seem like i am changing subjects when i tell you that i am now in Hong Kong, but China is a fabulous place and I will bring it up more often. I will tell you stories of my discoveries and what a genuine learning experience it was.

But I am now in Hong Kong exploring the limits again. I moved to Hong Kong three weeks ago with a plan to find employment. In the past three weeks I have found a place to live on Hong Kong Island, met many Recruiters and attended almost any networking event I could find.

From conversations at coffee shops I have found an excellent networking list of the weekly meeting here in HK, met other Recruiters, and discovered that there is much to do here.

Last night I did something that can only be unique to Hong Kong. I took a five minute subway ride to Quarry Bay MTR and in another 10 minutes of walking I was climbing a mountain. It was a full moon with a light mist in the air. The city lights was bouncing off the mist and it was possible to hike without needing a torch (that’s Brit for flashlight). The goal was a 400m peak called Mount Butler. The hike lasted about 1:40 and covered 5K, up, down, up again, and then down 700 steps in the wet mist. I felt afraid sometimes when I truly couldn’t see the trail because of the mist, but also knew that if I took my time and focused I could find the path. It was my first night hike and I am hooked.

I am still searching for a job, still meeting people everyday, and seeking to get “no” from at least 5 people a day. Only by seeking the NO will I find the YES!

Memorable quotes inspire me to excel, to push myself, to find what my limits are and then push them further. This is the quote that I am thinking about this week.

20121226-163856.jpg

Posted on December 7, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment